SNAHEC

The Sacramento Native American Higher Education Collaborative (SNAHEC) is a regionally based workgroup made up of Native American faculty, staff, administrators, designated community/agency or organizations, tribes, and students to discuss intersegmental designs of pathways for Native American students and solutions to improve access, retention, success and the overall experience for Native American students in public education. This group has focused attention on improving inter-organizational communication and coordination, creating strategies, improving policy, and developing collaborative programs and events.

Members:

Prof. Jesus Valle

(Yaqui/Carrizo/Isleta/Apache)

American River College

Director, Native American Resource Center

SNAHEC Co-Chair 2020-2022

vallej@arc.losrios.edu

Rosita Olalde

(Lakota)

Student Senate for California Community Colleges

Executive Assistant 

rolalde@ssccc.org 

Angela Milano

(Acjachemen)

American River College

ARC Tribal Liaison, Dean Fine and Applied Arts

Milanoa@arc.losrios.edu

Jeanine Gaines

(Citizen Potawatomi Nation)

Sacramento Native American Health Center

Communications Manager

jeanine.gaines@snahc.org

Nia Gregory

(Cherokee Nation, Yuchi)

Wilton Rancheria/Department of Education

Director of Education

ngregory@wiltonrancheria-nsn.gov

Kellie Cunningham Bliss

(Haida)

Los Rios Community College District

Adjunt Professor/ Early Childhood Education

blissk@flc.losrios.edu

Dr. Tamara Cheshire

(Lakota)

Folsom Lake College

Ethnic Studies Department Chair & Professor

Tamara.Cheshire@flc.losrios.edu

Get in touch:

chair@snahec.org

Follow us:

Want to help support Native students?

Donations are always welcome. SNAHEC’s work on behalf of the Native community is self-supported and funded by association members. Contact us for donation methods.

Are you interested in joining SNAHEC?

SNAHEC is a California unincorporated association. Contact us for membership criteria.

Hear more about local Native events and happenings in the SNAHEC blog.